bloody vsts in cubase

OPTOBOT

OPTOBOT
Messages
928
Reaction score
9
twas trying to clean up my vst folder from inside cubase,

And without realising deleted the link to the vst folder on my c drive,

This means that my latest tune, has lots all vsts and the presets, and as they were deleted, the fucking fx i put on them has been deleted as well. Thats hours and hours of mixing and tweaking presets etc that has been lost from the tune,

i cant bloody remember all the stuff i used to change the sounds etc etc so im left with basically drums and thats it.

didn't reallty eplain this well but bastardo stupidness!!!!
 

OPTOBOT

OPTOBOT
Messages
928
Reaction score
9
yeah sorry didn't explain too well, the folder is still there but cubase didn't no where to look for it,

so i told cubase to look for vsts i nthe right folder,

but because i had loaded up a song previously it deleted all vsts from the tracks etc,

even when i loaded it up it still comes up with a message saying that abotu 9 vsts aren't there
 

OPTOBOT

OPTOBOT
Messages
928
Reaction score
9
its very annoying the last time my pc crashed and i had to do a clean windows install, it was the same tune that the exact same thing happened!!! Each time it hapens i basically do a remix of all the stuff and it ends up sounding completeely different.

oh well
 

Faction

Proto-col
Messages
21,786
Reaction score
940
Location
Bristol
So you saved the song when it had loaded up without the plugins?

Bet you won't do that again... :p :Wink3:

BTW you can save an incremental backup very easily using <cntrl><alt>-s and I recommend you do this very often. This means that even if you do save a corrupted version you've always got a relatively recent vesion to go back to.
 

OPTOBOT

OPTOBOT
Messages
928
Reaction score
9
yeah think i will be doing a backup save, just abit annoying the way cubase remembers vsts, in a perfect world it would somehow still have the name and settings of a vst, even if it wasn't loaded, that way when the vst is there it loads back in the same fashion.

Surely what i have found must be a big problems for people that are using multiple systems with different plugins, if i take a cubase session to a mates house, change a couple of settings on his computer and save it, when i load it back into my computer all the vsts that i have, but he doesn't have will have been deleted from the session?!! I think!
 
Top