Downloading etc polemic

mad ron

I searched and got bored so if this is old news who cares.

I'm 23. I download the odd thing and often buy legal copies of previously downloaded stuff. I work as a dj but rarely DJ downloaded music (except at silly parties/house parties etc prefering to play tracks by friends or from my main collection. I'm not an expert but an educated kinda guy and want to put some basic ideas out there to provoke discussion. This is a one sided essay that invites a similar argument from the other side.

I feel that illegal downloading and burning give young people access to a wider variety of music and the chance to instantly follow new interests in new sounds to their logical conclusion. I think it spreads interest in acts that would otherwise be unknown. I think it is the most positive thing to happen to the music world since the arrival of pop in the days of Frank Sinatra and co.

I have worked for a trance record label and seen that the target audience are the most download savvy among those who listen to the music: DJs. I have also seen that the main effect of this has been that sales have dropped and the pressure to perform has moved labels away from releasing daring music leading to a homogenisation of the total output of the labels. I refuse to accept that this is a negative process. Musicians have always made more and less experimental tracks. Some for money, some for kudos some for personal satisfaction. This is part of the professional artist's lifestyle.

I feel that artists have reacted to this process by assuming that this is an expression of the will of party goers and music lovers in general rather than the balance of influence by DJs and A&R people. They have lost faith in the average party goer's musical taste when really the average party goer doesn't buy the cds and so is not having any influence on the market led trends in label output.