Music / Production Study...

Marc

Scratchadelica
Reaction score
After 'resigning' from my job I'm now considering doing some kind of music course or ideally a degree - involving electronic production etc.

Can anyone recommend any particularly good institutions or courses ? I have a comp sci & elec eng degree just now so would I perhaps be able to top this up with a masters or something ? Ive been looking at a variety of sites from unis/colleges to places like SAE [you dont even want to know how much these guys charge!] but have no idea if any of these are any good :S

Any advice would be fantastic !!

peace,
marc

Hi Marc - good luck with your career change :Smile3:

I don't know your reasons, but have you considered a bit of one-to-one tuition with some of the talent available in this forum? As a Christmas pressie my wife had booked me a day in a local studio & I learnt tons of great stuff!

Just a thought
:drinking:

I'd like to learn how to mic up and record a proper drum kit. :jump:

Warwick Bassmonkey said:
I'd like to learn how to mic up and record a proper drum kit. :jump:

With difficulty.

(Think there's about a million and one variations)

J.

I'd like to learn how to mic up and record a proper drum kit.

I did hear that if the drool is coming out of both sides of the drummer's mouth equally, you got him about level :lol1:

Sorry, luv tubthumpers really :cool:

lol :Grin:

I had a quick look at SAE and for a start they charge 10k for the course im interested in ... i could go to a redbrick uni for less than that quite frankly !!

Has anyone here done any courses as such ? [Ive heard EVP and Nick/Dan error corrective went to rose bruford b ut not sure how that compares to elsewhere etc]

peace,
marc

yea the course at Tonmeister offers courses on a very scientific approach to Music Tech. you need A's in Physics, Maths and Music to get in. not much creative producing involved though.