noob alert

lurk

Stunning Cunt
Reaction score
it's ok, i said noob, not moob.

right then. first of all i know bugger all about music production, but i thought i'd give it a go even though i don't think i have a musical bone in my body.

i've installed reason 2.5; read the tutorial gone and gone through that a few times, so i know how to make a noise :Wink3:

this leads me to my first question(s)... the noises that i have found are fairly shite; so i've read the threads about plug ins and refills, and i'm guessing these are what i need... so, where do i get them, and are they usually free? :Smile3:

my next question, and final one (for now), is in your expert opinions, does a complete novice need a midi keyboard? the tutorial is based on the fact that you do, but i don't particularly want to invest in one until i know i'm going to stick with it... unless it is absolutely necessary.

any help gratefully recieved :Smile3:

jamez_23

Blah
Reaction score
lurk said:
it's ok, i said noob, not moob.
Damn.

lurk said:
this leads me to my first question(s)... the noises that i have found are fairly shite; so i've read the threads about plug ins and refills, and i'm guessing these are what i need... so, where do i get them, and are they usually free? :Smile3:
There are many free plugins out there, there are many plugins out there that cost money but can be obtained for free. (Ethics .......)

Some are insert effects ..... reverb, delay, phasers etc ..... these effect sound that are passed through them. Then there are instruments - pretty much like the synths that come with Reason, only better.

lurk said:
my next question, and final one (for now), is in your expert opinions, does a complete novice need a midi keyboard? the tutorial is based on the fact that you do, but i don't particularly want to invest in one until i know i'm going to stick with it... unless it is absolutely necessary.