Percussion and Leads EQ

Bharath

Junior Members
Reaction score
Hello All,

I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on how to EQ my percussion and leads. I am really struggling with them. They just don't fit very well within the whole mix and i find it very hard to move on with my music. Can you guys help me in any way? Please!!

Oh, It would be awesome if you guys would be willing to share the way you go about EQing or whatever it is that you do :Smile3: to improve the quality of your percussion and the leads.

Thank You All.

Best Wishes,
DK

M

makdaddy

hey phinthak

got any tunes uploaded anywhere to preview ?

Bharath

Junior Members
Reaction score
Hey Imak,
I'm quite new to the whole music making business.
I'm just working on my 1st track now. I've got a couple of other half finished tracks but nothing great!

i'll upload when i reach home.

Anyone else willing to offer more help?

Thanks!!

Sturdy Pete

Sturdy Member
Reaction score
well here's my two cents, not the best explanation but it's a start..

the basic concept of EQ is to make a 'space' within your mix for each sound, so they don't get in the way of each other - ie if your lead line is clashing / covering up your hi-hats, you need to make a gap within your leadline using EQ - giving your hi hat the space to sit in.

also useful to use EQ to tidy up the low / high edges of each sound - for example use a low shelf to remove as much low frequencies from the hi hat as possible (set gain to
-24dB, then sweep the frequency upwards until it starts to sound a little cleaner). can make a lot of difference, particularly if the drum samples used haven't been pre-processed..

there are a few other threads around about EQ'ing, probably with many better descriptions.. the sticky'd be a good place to start:
http://www.psy-forum.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=33089

heh world of information in this forum.. learnt more about production here than @ uni!!

Crispy

Fried for too long
Reaction score