Plug in design/terminology questions?

jackrabbit

pulse width fay
Reaction score
First off about filters. Whats a format filter? Whats a band stop filter?

Anyone know what FFT is about?

jibberer

Jibbering Wreck
Reaction score
I band stop filter cuts a frequency band, with the usual cut off control deciding the grequency, and the resonance controls how wide the band is, and I think formant filters emulate vowel sounds or something like that, but could be totally wrong...

jackrabbit

pulse width fay
Reaction score
cheers jibberer
Is i was typing the band stop seemes obvious but wanted to clarify.

Still curious about FFT components though as I have started creating plugins with SonicBirth. I have only been using computers for 2 years(gardener by trade) and there is a lot of stuff that goes completely over my head.

jibberer

Jibbering Wreck
Reaction score
I was pretty much pushing my technological limits with the band stop explanation... noooo idea what FFT is... by the way posted a different version of my recent tune up if you want to listen... hope it's a little better! What kind of plug ins are you trying to make?

jackrabbit

pulse width fay
Reaction score
jibberer said:
What kind of plug ins are you trying to make?

Anything and everything. SonicBirth alows you to create whatever you want(within boundries). I have made a few different filter plugins but there are so many bits to use I am just trying to find out what bits do or are for.

jackrabbit

pulse width fay
Reaction score
Cheers Purusha
Handy link. Seems like rocket sience at the mo :ismile:

jibberer is new version of tune on same link as old one?

Abstraction

happy juice
Reaction score