Reverb on basslines?

Abstraction Feb 22, 2004

  1. Abstraction

    Abstraction happy juice

    Threads:
    117
    Messages:
    2,529
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    straight outta crowthorne
    is it wise to put reverb on basslines? if so what type? how much? long tails or short tails? etc
     
  2. Kudos

    Kudos Psytranceaholic

    Threads:
    12
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Farnborough, Hampshire, UK
    Ouch! NEVER!

    Reverb will blur the notes, and I have enough trouble trying to keep a 'dry' bassline as clear as possible!

    The lower the bass frequency, the less room you will have to do fancy things to it. For bass and kick, you should keep them as tight and crisp as you can.

    K
     
  3. soliptic

    soliptic whirling mathematician

    Threads:
    59
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sw19
    never say never.

    i do it , hmm, not exactly often, but more than 'very occasionally', also. the key thing really is just to hipass the send to the reverb (or otherwise be aware of stereo+subs=bad hazards). beyond that - how much, what type, what length - whatever works! :Smile3:
     
  4. JPsychodelicacy

    JPsychodelicacy Studio Elf

    Threads:
    49
    Messages:
    9,075
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London SE19
    </div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (soliptic @ Feb 23 2004, 12:31 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> hipass the send to the reverb [/quote:b2ace1d199]
    This may make me sound like an absolute doofus, but how'd you do that?

    IME, reverb can work on some basslines (bass sounds with a bright top end are usually good for it), but be very careful - keep it short and low in the mix.

    J.
     
  5. Ott^

    Ott^ Guest

    There are no rules.

    Fuck with it till it sounds good.

    :Smile3:
     
  6. JPsychodelicacy

    JPsychodelicacy Studio Elf

    Threads:
    49
    Messages:
    9,075
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London SE19
    </div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Ott^ @ Feb 23 2004, 01:04 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> There are no rules.

    Fuck with it till it sounds good.

    :Smile3: [/quote:5fcc5d6af4]
    That works too.

    J. :stupid:
     
  7. soliptic

    soliptic whirling mathematician

    Threads:
    59
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    sw19
    </div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (JPsychodelicacy @ Feb 23 2004, 12:45 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> </div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (soliptic @ Feb 23 2004, 12:31 AM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> hipass the send to the reverb [/quote:63cc4c5da4]
    This may make me sound like an absolute doofus, but how'd you do that?
    [/quote:63cc4c5da4]

    Depends really

    if you've got a verb dedicated to that task, and its a decent one, it will probably have its own eqs so you could just not have much bass there

    otherwise... if you actually need to "highpass the send" ... then it depends what you use i guess.

    i'm in nuendo 1, i add a group channel, then use that as send on my main channel. then u can put whatever inserts (in this case highpass) on that before adding normal sends to that channel itself (in this case our reverb send). sx 1 should be the same. AIUI, n2 and sx2 have replaced the send rack with fx channels, so this is redundant anyway cos sends already work like channels with inserts.

    logic i know is similar, except i think "group channels" in logic are something TOTALLY different and what u in fact need is a "bus channel". IIRC.

    Fruity/reason/etc - no idea.
     
  8. JPsychodelicacy

    JPsychodelicacy Studio Elf

    Threads:
    49
    Messages:
    9,075
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London SE19
    Much appreciated dude.

    I'm currently poking my way around SX2 after spending the lion's share of my time using VST 5. Thus far what I've seen seems to be fairly straightforward.

    * - I'll get round to learning Logic properly at some point, but am sticking to the Cubase family for my first batch - just so I can get the ideas down more quickly.

    J.
     
  9. Lazytom

    Lazytom imperialist running-dog

    Threads:
    132
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    oxford
    wot I do sometimes is bounce the bassline to audio and make a duplicate of the wav file. Then I line 'em up on 2 separate audio tracks, roll off the the high end on one and the low end on the other, and put reverb/delay/modulation on the hi-passed track only. Good for nasty gravel-munching dnb style stuff....
     
  10. Speakafreaka

    Speakafreaka Champagne Rouletter

    Threads:
    235
    Messages:
    9,058
    Likes Received:
    336
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Fell asleep on Beula's porch
    careful, careful...

    in a trance sense - i.e aroundish 140bpm this is not advised! if you really must 'smear' the bass you are much better off using something like a sync'd delay with a low pass filter, as this won't screw around with the original in the same way as a very present reverb.

    very (and i do mean very) precise predelay and gating times can make it workable, but will have to be be wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy back in the mix. and bass control is a problem if you don't want to break someones pride and joy soundsystem.

    In my experience (limited!!!) it is rarely worth the effort - I would much rather use delay based effects such as chorus and well er... delay to affect my bass!

    good luck, and watch those subs...
     
  11. norty303

    norty303 Member (Todger)

    Threads:
    48
    Messages:
    1,998
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Yeah i like to fatten my basslines by copying them to a second track and then just use the track delay in the arrange window (Logic) to affect one of them but only by a very small amount (2-8ms at most). It's very noticeable and there is a sweet spot but you also get some funny phasing effects too sometimes which may or may not be desirable.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice