To anyone that produces music...

hello - :Smile3:

'you are where you are meant to be' - a universally applicable phillosophy

in this context - the amount of work you have put in to studying your sequencer manuals, or reading forums websites on music tech, sound construction etc, or asking the advice of more knowledgeable friends (and taking notes if your memory is like mine) and basically being humble and earnest, this is what affects your level of production skills.

I've been banging away on logic audio for about 3 years and am now getting results i'm really satisfied with - I'm a computer programmer by trade and have dje'd for 8 years but logic is a complex program, and you have to understand the concepts behind it that are common across all sequencers, plus learn a little sound synthesis and much more... basically it's hard work but very rewarding when you're dancing around your bedroom/studio to a tune you've written yourself!!! my advice is to be patient with yourself, and try to learn a little every day, probably while writing a tune... keep writing tunes is what experienced producers have told me - each one gets better... also if you have the chance to write a tune with someone else more experienced definitely take it - you learn a heap!!

all the best!!!

Andrew
www.organicrecords.net
www.andrewsden.net

Hi Andrew,

I've been trying to write music for a couple of years now and Im at the stage, wheer each project I start seems to be, in some way an improvement on the the last one, which I suppose is good. Im starting to get things sounding phatter, but my overall structure is my area of weakness at the moment.

I keep telling myself that the music I write in 10 years time will be worthy of someone listening to it though, which is a thought thats keeping me motivated to learn more. One day...... :Wink3: